De-clutter!

English Dictionary defines clutter as ‘a confused disordered jumble of things’. The opposite (antonym) of clutter is de-clutter meaning doing away with the confused jumble of things.

Over the years, we tend to grow our possessions on this earth. This possessions come in many forms. At the time of acquiring the possessions, we believe that they are very important, this is highly debatable buy hey! Some of the possessions serve a purpose, for a given time and then become useless but we still keep them.

Today’s project involved spending a couple of hours poring over clutter in my cabinets with the aim of getting it organized and easy to find what i need.

Other part of the cabinets. Mumbo jumbo

Part of the cabinet mumbo jumbo

This is what part of the messy  cabinet looked like

Other side of the messy cabinet looked like. Poor green wig

As long as they remained shut, i was oblivious to the the mess

As long as they remained shut, i was oblivious to the the mess

It took me about two hours to get all the stuff out, sift through what i needed and didn’t need anymore. Word of caution, be very very objective. You will need to shut out all sentimental feelings otherwise you will put everything back and that is not the aim! I am not sure how well this advice will go when it comes to my wardrobe de-clutter time…

Two hours later, the results were…..*drum rolls*…..

Amazing what a little order can do right?

Amazing what a little order can do right? I am sure the green wigs agree!

 

I can easily find my books and magazines!  Bonus: Even the hoover found a home!

I can easily find my books, files and magazines!
Bonus: Even the hoover found a home!

Feels so good opening those cabinet doors now! Challenge is to maintain them that neat!

Have you recently de-cluttered? spring cleaned? Share your experience.

Keep it DIY!

3 thoughts on “De-clutter!

  1. Pingback: Less is more | DIY Nyumbani

  2. Reblogged this on Theblacpen's Blog and commented:
    guilty as charged,

    i still have my first year photocopied notes and exam papers, my first job writings and paraphernalia acquired from sevens rugby events in the country dating back to 2009. they fill my shelves, wardrobes and the carton improvised to keep the stuff from my old job. Im lazy to sift through and i have never seen if its valuable to arrange this jumble. that space you did up there makes me think otherwise…damn do i have the will?

  3. guilty as charged,

    i still have my first year photocopied notes and exam papers, my first job writings and paraphernalia acquired from sevens rugby events in the country dating back to 2009. they fill my shelves, wardrobes and the carton improvised to keep the stuff from my old job. im lazy to sift through and i have never seen if its any valuable to arrange this jumble. that space you did up there makes me thinks otherwise…damn do i have the will?

I'd love to hear from you

