DIY Photo gallery

Hello DIYers!

This week i undertook a project that has been on my to do list for a while now; a wall photo gallery.

A follow up from last weeks painted frames, that came in handy in putting together this project.

First off you need to identify where the gallery will be. The wall should not have too many things going on as the photo gallery in its self is a busy spot.

I had identified this wall in the living room for my gallery

I had identified this plain wall in the living room for my gallery

Once you know how much space you are woking with, start collecting your frames and pictures. Let your imagination free on the pictures, it could really be any form of art that you want to display.

I had been collecting frames and images for a while…so i had them stacked in a corner of the living room. They were judgmental this frames, always looked at me from the floor reminding me that i am yet to hang them….

 

The judgmental pictures and frames...on the floor...

The judgmental pictures and frames…on the floor… 

I chose to go with black frames given the very white wall and so the brown frames had to be painted black. Now that i had my frames, printed pictures and my space, I needed to determine how they would be arranged. I laid them out on the floor beneath the wall to ensure i got the length right and also to map out an arrangement.

Now, what happened in between was i realized i needed a big black frame that would carry several images, the gold frame wasn’t cutting it. Plus i know that it will come in handy someday…in some other project. I dashed to House of Leather where i was certain they would have what i was looking for. Indeed they did…see what i did there? Anyway, for Ksh2,000 i got this beautiful black frame that could hold 10 images and had the word ‘memories’ in the middle. Perfect!

Well laid out plans...

Well laid out plans…

So i had sufficient space and a good layout plan. The carefully spaced frames would need to also be carefully spaced on the wall. I remembered a post i had seen on one of my favorite DIY blogs Young House Love, tracing out the frames on paper and placing the templates on the wall with measured spaces in between the frames.

If you try this at home [and i highly encourage you to] this is a very, very important stage. It will reduce on errors and frustration levels.

I had no tracing paper, so i went for the next best thing, newspaper. Placed the frames on top and traced out making sure to indicate where the hooks were.

Tracing on newspaper with a black marker

Tracing on newspaper with a black marker

After tracing out, cut the paper out and stick them on the wall with masking tape and carefully measure the distances between the columns and the rows.

Newspaper wall gallery

Newspaper wall gallery- yes i did correct the wayward template on the right end

I couldn’t find a newspaper big enough for the larger frame, it was time fir some elbow grease, i traced the actual frame on the wall! I used a pencil to trace it out, including where the hooks will be, not sure you will be able to see the outline on the image above.

After placing the traced out paper it was time to put the hooks on, remember the templates pointed out the sections where the hooks would be, so this will be a breeze. I used the hooks with little nails on them as they are more sturdy than the ordinary hooks that have glue. They go for Ksh50 from hardwares. It is important to make sure that the hooks you use will be able to hold the weight of the frames for a long period.

Tools for the day

Tools for the day

And finally, i got to hang the frames on the wall. And i loved it!

Wall photograllery

Wall photograllery

I also loved the fact that it has some space left and therefore the potential to grow.

Try it out and share!

Any projects you have undertaken lately? Share!

Keep it DIY!

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “DIY Photo gallery

I'd love to hear from you

